I was just thinking about the fact that, 40 years ago, most of us with severe fertility problems would be out of luck. IVF treatment isn’t that old, and the stimulating medications they have are improving all the time. It really, truly sucks that we’re in this mess and can’t easily have the child that we want, but we have some real hope. That hope wouldn’t have existed 40 years ago.

For all my complaints and bitching and moaning about my situation, the endless needles and blood draws and invasive tests, we’re lucky that we have the hope these things bring. I know I may not get pregnant on my first IVF, or my second or ever, but I can hold onto technology and reproductive science and the future. At least until I get so depressed over all this s#!t that I give up and get another dog.

